What do you think of when you think about Mumbai? And have you ever explored any of the small, unique areas of the city?

In most cities, there is much more to explore than what immediately meets the eye. Taking a stroll off the beaten path can lead you to experience something completely new, perhaps something that you had never expected to find. This is what Bombae photographer and foodie Sunaina Basu had to say after her discovery of the diverse heritage village Khotachiwadi in 2013:

“When people think of Mumbai or Bombay, they usually think of tall sky scrapers, busy roads, or in some further unfortunate cases “Slumdog Millionaire”. When I think of Bombay, I think of Marine Drive, delicious street food, Colaba Causeway and of course the monsoons. So when I first chanced upon Khotachiwadi – I was pleasantly surprised. Where had this gem been hiding all 20 years of my life and why had I never come here?”

Read more about Khotachiwadi and see all of Sunaina’s beautiful pictures here!

