It is hard to feel bored walking down the streets of any major Iranian city. Besides the obvious stimulation from the noise and activity surrounding you, with cars swooshing by and bright fruit stands distracting you at every house corner, there is the street art. There is not a street in Tehran without street art, barely a corner without colorful tiles.

And although most of the pictures that I took were in Tehran, I found that there was no shortage of street art in the cities that I visited further up north either. Birds, trees, mountains, geometrical Islamic patterns, balloons, restaurant advertisements, and flowers – just a few examples of the art that lights up the streets of Iran with its bright colors.

Here are some pictures from the walls that I spotted in Tehran, a village close to Mount Damavand, and Bandar Anzali.

 

All photos taken by me on an iPhone.

