HAPPY HOLI! Although I have only participated in 3 holi celebrations, it happens to be one of my favorite holidays of the year. Colors, music, dance, sweets… All ingredients for a great time! Since I am not able to participate in any celebrations this year, I thought that I would just share a few things that I think represent holi!

Colors!!! Duh.

Happy Holi! Welcome Spring! #holi #festival #colours #india #happyholi #holifestival #celebration #festivalofcolours #colour #indian #travel

A post shared by Sundara Travel&Events (@sundaratravelandevents) on

 

No holi without gujiyas!

Here in South India, the festival of Holi isn't celebrated with the same gusto as up North. But that's not going to stop me from getting into the festive mood. And what could be more festive than homemade, hand-rolled & stuffed gujiyas? Gujiyas (fried sweet dumplings/empanadas) have remained my favorite Holi sweet since childhood. This year I decided to give them a healthy makeover. I used whole wheat flour for the pastry casing and stuffed them with a mix of mawa, raw khandsari sugar, nuts, dried fruit and cardamom powder. Traditionally gujiyas are deep fried in ghee, but I only used a little to brush the tops with and baked them in the oven until crispy & golden. Of course, I had to make some thandai to serve alongside them. A very happy, healthy & colorful Holi to all those who celebrate. 💜💙💚💛❤️💕 #cupcakeree #baked #gujiya #thandai #indiandessert #holi #homebaking #morningslikethese #beautifulcuisines #nomnom #sweettooth #onthetable #thekitchn #f52grams #thefeedfeed @thefeedfeed #healthyfoodshare #buzzfeedfood #huffposttaste #foodgawker #foodtalkindia #theurbanspiceholi #thechalkboardeats #foodieflatlays #gloobyfood #foodwinewomen #EEEEEATS #thatsdarling #foodstagram #instayum

A post shared by Reethika Singh (@cupcakeree) on

 

And above all, no holi without some danceable Bollywood songs!

A classic:

My personal favorite (for all occasions):

 

What is holi to you?

 

Cover photo taken by me.

